The Big Inch by Kimberly Fish Audiobook REVIEW


BIG INCH: Misfits and Millionaires #1 by KIMBERLY FISH Genre: Historical Fiction / WWII Spies / Romance Date of Publication: August 1, 2018 Length: 10 hours, 22 minutes

Fans of Pam Jenoff, Susan Elia MacNeal, and Kate Quinn will want to read the first book in a sparkling WWII historical fiction series, The Big Inch. Lane Mercer is a spy recovering from a disastrous mission in France when she’s assigned to protect the interests of the new federal project sending American oil to the Allies. Thrown into the high-stakes world of Texas oilmen, she’s inventing maneuvers on the fly to outwit would be counter-intelligence and Fascist sympathizers. Complicating her mission is a handsome con-artist who manages to be under her feet at the most inopportune times. Trapped between trusting her gut or trusting her informers, Lane has to learn to navigate a town that is laced with more intrigue than she’d ever have guessed, and she soon discovers that the life she might have to save. . .is her own.

CLICK TO PURCHASEAmazonAudible

I do enjoy a well-researched book and as much as I love following a strong female lead, it was great seeing the reality of the era. The main protagonist, Lane seemed to persevere past the stigmas of being deferred to domestic work. That assumption actually complemented her undercover work quite well.

The story was filled with open possibilities so it was nice to not know exactly what was going to happen and the romance was adorably sweet. There was a great build and connection to the characters throughout which can be attributed both to the narrator of this audiobook and the story. The narrator on this was a blast. She was a bit high pitched, but her accents were excellent. The pitch had me having to turn the volume up a little more than normal because it came off a little soft, but the numerous characters she brought to life compensated ten folds. She would talk through a single breathe at exciting scenes and her voice would rise and speed up and it made you stop what you were doing and get caught on that same single breathe in anticipation. Great southern charm!

Kimberly Fish has been a professional writer in marketing and media for almost 30 years. In the course of research for the Longview Chamber of Commerce 100-year compilation, she stumbled across a 1940s federal works project that was too good, too war-winning, not to be retold to modern audience. In 2017, she released The Big Inch, her first WWII spy thriller detailing the crazy, big pipeline project that fueled the Allies to a win in Europe. The Big Inch has also been released as an audio download on Audible. That eye-opening novel was so consumed by readers, she quickly followed it with a second WWII spy thriller set in Longview, Harmon General. Both of these novels will be helpful to her work with the City of Longview’s 150th birthday celebrations which begin in January of 2020. Comfort Plans, a contemporary novel also set in Texas, continues her love of history by weaving old letters into the renovation of an iconic Hill Country farmhouse.

Kimberly enjoys speaking on the value of weaving history and nostalgia into our plans as we grow our communities for the future.

WebsiteFacebookTwitterInstagramGoodreadsPinterestAmazon

Sydney Young is a lawyer, award-winning writer and audio book narrator from the Lone Star State. Her next theatrical project will be directing “SHAKESPEARE IN LOVE,” for the Paris Community Theatre stage (Feb. 2019), while her novel “I AM HOUSTON,” is being submitted for publication by the Loiacono Literary Agency. Sydney has long been a reading advocate, including with her readings to an adopted second grade class each year. She loved voicing THE BIG INCH for all of its authentic Texas voices and true characters, all while she learned the history of the East Texas oil effort for World War II. Visit Sydney’s website for more information on her writings, theatre, and audio books.

Website Facebook Instagram Twitter

Choice of Audio or Signed Print Copy of The Big Inch

+ $25 Amazon Gift Card + a WWII Themed Surprise Gift!

NOVEMBER 5-12, 2018

(U.S. Only)

Click Image to Enter

11/5/18 Joint Guest Post Nerd Narration 11/6/18 Audio Book Review Chapter Break Book Blog 11/7/18 Audio Book Review Tangled in Text 11/8/18 Narrator Interview StoreyBook Reviews 11/9/18 Audio Book Review The Book Review 11/10/18 Audio Book Review The Page Unbound 11/11/18 Guest Post Momma on the Rocks 11/12/18 Audio Book Review Kelly Well Read 11/12/18 Audio Book Review Forgotten Winds

#LSBBT #giveaway #review #books